Salespersons with 2+ years experience
This unique combination of Property Management (PM), Landlord Tenant Law (LTL) part I and par II, Fair Housing (FH) and Law of Agencies (LOA) classes will provide the participant (such as Real Estate Administrators, Asset, Property or Real Estate Managers and Managing Agents) with recognition for understanding the standard practices of administrative functions, financial obligations of the business entity, human resources, operations and maintenance functions, public and tenant relations of the premises and safeguard the federal, state and city compliance for occupancy of various premises.
The easiest way to complete your CE requirements is to purchase a package below.
This New York State approved continuing education course of twenty two and one half (22 ½) hours provides a level of study or deliverable geared towards individuals that are involved or are interested in the construction, development and real estate management industries. Business professionals such as bankers, construction managers, developers, general contractors, investors, lawyers and licensed appraisers, real estate salesperson’s and broker’s with an interest to further acquire knowledge and technical understanding in the business of real estate management and real property investment methodology.
This course will cover the laws concerning residential and non-residential tenancies in New York. It will address the rights and obligations of owners and occupants. The course will analyze lease provisions of rent-regulated apartments and commercial properties. The termination of the landlord-tenant relationship including legal proceedings will be discussed in detail.
Course approved for New York State 3.75 hours of continuing education. This 3.75 hour class satisfies the Fair Housing requirement. This course covers basic fair housing principles which salespersons and brokers are expected to know and practice. The course also examines the Federal, State, local and regulatory codes that shape fair housing as we know it.
No. A recent legislative amendment REMOVED the 15-year real estate broker continuing education exemption and now requires all brokers who were previously exempted to complete continuing education starting July 1, 2021.
Yes. There are 5 classes required.
According to the DOS: “All licensees must successfully complete 22.5 hours of approved continuing education. The education must include at least 2 hours of instruction pertaining to cultural competency, 2 hours of instruction on implicit bias, 2.5 hours on the subject of ethical business practices, at least 1 hour of recent legal matters, at least 3 hours of instruction pertaining to fair housing and/or discrimination in the sale or rental of real property or an interest in real property and at least 1 hour of instruction pertaining to the law of agency except in the case of the initial two-year licensing term for real estate salespersons, 2 hours of agency related instruction must be completed within the two-year period immediately preceding a renewal.”
Real estate professionals must complete 22.5 hours of continuing education every two years to keep their licenses active.
You must go to your eAccessNY account and renew.
If you do not renew your license, you cannot conduct any real estate activities that require a New York State real estate license in accordance with Article 12-A of the Real Property Law. There are no grace periods that allow you to continue working while not licensed. You have two years from the date your license expires to renew your license. If you fail to renew within that period, you will be required to pass the state written examination. No continuing education will be required to repeat the licensing process again.
When you submit your new salesperson application, you must include the following: your new examination results, application fee, and a copy of your expired license/pocket card or ORIGINAL proof of completing the salesperson course. If possible, it is better to submit original proof of your salesperson course. If you do not have an original certificate, then call the school where you took the course to request another certificate. If you are applying for your broker’s license, you must submit ORIGINAL proof of your 75-hour salesperson course and 45-hour broker course, or a copy of your expired broker’s license.